Queen Mary’s Grammar School Governing Body

The School is part of the Mercian Trust, a multi-academy trust, which was incorporated on 1st January 2018.

Visit the Mercian Trust Website here

Following the formation of the Mercian Trust, the Trustees established Local Governing Boards (LGBs) for each of its Schools and which serve as committees of the Mercian Trust Board.

The role of the LGB includes:

  • Day to day oversight of the running of the School in terms of learning, standards, safety and well-being and the general provision of pastoral care.
  • Implementation of the Trust’s vision, policies and priorities.
  • Holding the School’s leadership team to account for academic performance.
  • Supporting the Trust Board and its other sub-committees in relation to the proper use of funds and the delivery of high quality educational provision.
  • To advise and act as a ‘critical friend’ to the Headteacher and to inform the Trust Board of any issues at the School which may require their consideration.
  • To provide support to the Leadership Team at the School by facilitating disciplinary and complaint procedures.

The membership of the LGB is set out in the Mercian Trust’s Terms of Reference and which is approved by the Board from time to time.

LGB Membership shall include:

  • At least 2 parent members.
  • At least 2 staff members.
  • The Headteacher.
  • Up to 4 members as may be appointed by the Mercian Board of Trustees.
  • Up to 3 members as may be co-opted by the LGB subject to Trust approval.
  • Such a number of members appointed by the Queen Mary’s Foundation Charity and which shall outnumber all of the members in all of the other categories by one.

The details below are of the Members of the Mercian Trust, the Mercian Trustees and of the LGB. The attendances are for the last academic year and the details of the LGB resignations are those that occurred in the last 12 months. The LGB has no additional committees except for Admissions, Staffing, Student Discipline, Pay, Headteacher’s Review and Complaints. These are convened when required.

Details of Members of the Mercian Trust from 1.1.18.

Mr. John Punch – Chair – Appointed 1.1.18.
Mrs. Vivian Fairbank – Member – Appointed 1.1.18.
Mr. David Lomax – Member -Appointed 1.1.18.
Mr. Philip Powell – Member – Appointed 1.1.18.
Mr. John Vallance – Member – Appointed 1.1.18.

Details of the Mercian Trustees.

Mr Kevin Davis -Chair
Ms Rebecca Hearsey-Vice-Chair
Mrs Jane Bonner – Trustee
Ms Melanie Crooks – Trustee
Mr Paul Lee – Trustee
The Reverend Beverley Boden – Trustee
Mr Mark Harland – Trustee
The Rt. Hon. Sir Gary Hickinbottom – Trustee
Dr David Oloke – Trustee
Mr Roland Roberts- Trustee
Mr Eddie Stride – Trustee.

Further details relating to both Mercian Members and Mercian Trustees are available on the Mercian Trust Website and which may be accessed using the link above.

Details of Members of the LGB.

Details of the Local Governing Board

NameTerm of OfficeCategoryAttendance 2022/2023Relevant Business InterestsRelationships with school staff.Other Governorships
Neil Moseley (Chair)1.1.22- 31.12.25Foundation6/7NoneNoneNone
Timothy Lawrence (Vice-Chair) Link Governor for Pupil Premium and SEND. Also serves as a Member of the Mercian Trust AIMS Committee.1.1.22-31.12.25Foundation7/7NoneNoneNone
Richard LangtonHeadmasterEx Officio7/7NoneMember of StaffNone
Richard Kirk Link Governor for Behaviour and Attendance.9.12.23-8.12.27Foundation2/5NoneNoneNone
Hamel Patel Link Governor for Property and Health and Safety.21.3.22-20.3.26Foundation5/6NoneNoneNone
James Picken Link Governor for Safeguarding and Welfare.23.9.23-30.6.24Foundation4/5NoneNoneNone
Dr Zain Iqbal Link6.9.21 – 5.9.25Foundation3/5NoneNoneNone
Mark Purcell Link Governor for Quality of Education: Curriculum, Outcomes and post
Faeeza Vaid MBE Link Governor for Diversity and Inclusion.27.9.22-26.9.26Foundation5/5NoneNoneNone
Rajinder Kudhail Link Governor for CEIAG/Co-curricular.24.10.22 -23.10.26Parent3/4NoneNoneNone
Robert Magee16.10.23 – 15.10.27Elected by StaffN/ANoneMember of StaffNone
John Ridler16.10.23 – 15.10.27Elected by StaffN/ANoneMember of StaffNone
Katherine Lewis7.2.24- 6.2.28ParentN/ANoneNoneNew Oscott Primary School.

Governor Resignations.

Lee RobertsResigned 17.4.23
Rahila NaguthneyResigned 23.6.23
Sarah SwainTerm of Service ended 25.9.23
Iftikhar AhmedTerm of Service ended 2.2.24